If your marriage is over, and there is no hope of reconciliation, you can be divorced in Texas either under a no-fault divorce (the marriage has become insupportable because of discord or conflict of personalities that destroys the legitimate ends of the marital relationship and prevents any reasonable expectation of reconciliation) or under the fault provisions (cruelty, adultery, felony conviction, abandonment, & confinement in mental hospital).
You must be a Texas resident for the past six months and a resident of the county in which you bring suit for 90 days.
Texas also has a 60 day waiting period between the day you file for divorce and the day it can be granted.
McLennan County also has a standing order in effect immediately upon the filing for divorce.
Please realize the information contained on this web site should not be construed as legal advice nor does it create an attorney-client relationship between us. It is simply here as a means for me to provide you some basic information for you to use when deciding on whether or not you need to hire an attorney. Because each case is different, it would be impossible for us to provide legal advice on a web site.
How much does it typically cost to get divorced? Contested cases can get expensive. I usually tell people to plan on spending $3,000 to $5,000 every time they have a contested hearing in court or a mediation. Discovery can add hundreds to thousands to the cost. But there is a less expensive way to do it... see below.
Gary Cunha, P.C., Attorney and Counselor at Law
P.O. Box 518, Hewitt, TX 76643